Go to the U of M home page


Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Applications Invited for Fall 2016 Inaugural Master of Human Rights Class; Faculty Committee Appointed

In light of the University of Minnesota Board of Regents September vote of approval to initiate a Master of Human Rights (MHR) degree at the University of Minnesota, faculty and staff in the College of Liberal Arts and Humphrey School of Public Affairs have been hard at work preparing the degree for its inaugural cohort in the 2016-2017 year.

The interdisciplinary degree is designed to provide students with the diverse substantive and methodological approaches necessary for the study and practice of human rights. Throughout the program, students will be able to draw upon and develop these theoretical and practical tools in a wide range of courses, internships, and field experiences available with leading global scholars and activists in human rights. To further develop students’ professional skills, the program also includes a wide range of concentrations in the field of human rights. Whether it is NGO management or the rights of refugees and asylum, students will be able to support their individual expertise and interests as they complete their Master of Human Rights.

The Faculty Committee for the new Master’s program was appointed by the offices of the Deans of CLA and the Humphrey School. At its first meeting, Lisa Hilbink (Associate Professor, Political Science) and James Ron (Associate Professor, Political Science and Humphrey School) were elected co-chairs of the Master’s faculty. The remaining committee members include:
  • Cawo Abdi, Associate Professor, Sociology 
  • Ragui Assaad, Professor, Humphrey School
  • Alejandro Baer, Associate Professor, Sociology 
  • Laura Bloomberg, Associate Dean, Humphrey School
  • Elizabeth Heger Boyle, Professor, Sociology
  • Karen Brown, Co-Director, Interdisciplinary Center for Global Change
  • Mary Curtin, Diplomat-in-Residence, Humphrey School
  • Ana Forcinito, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese Studies
  • Barbara Frey, Director, Human Rights Program
  • Greta Friedemann-Sánchez, Associate Professor, Humphrey School
  • Deborah Levison, Professor, Humphrey School
  • Samuel L. Myers Jr., Professor, Humphrey School
  • Sarah E. Parkinson, Assistant Professor, Humphrey School
  • Alex Rothman, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, CLA
  • Joachim J. Savelsberg, Professor, Sociology
  • Melissa M. Stone, Professor, Humphrey School

Students interested in the MHR should visit its new website and download a brochure for more information. Applications for Fall 2016 will become available in October. Please do not hesitate to contact the admissions office (hhhadmit@umn.edu) or the Coordinator of the Master of Human Rights, Mary Curtin, (mtcurtin@umn.edu) with any questions.